THE PAIN OF WHO I AM,

I never intended to hurt anyone

I never intended to fail you

I never intended to be the worst

But today, I met the pain of who I am

 

I have through of death,

I have thought of pain

I have thought of the worst

When today, I met the pain of who I am

 

I fell from the topmost point of integrity

I fell with all my being before the hosts

I fell into the emptiness of nakedness

Then I fell into the pain of who I am.

 

I died yesterday, but my burial came earlier

I cried today, but I met the pain yesterday,

I dread what tomorrow holds for me

Since I met the pain of who I am

 

Rugged, filthy, liar, insolent, dead

Promise breaker, hopeless robber

Pretender, unrealistic, depraved

This is the truth of the pain of who I am

 

I have met the pain of who I am

I have gone to the ends of the world in this pain

I have woken up from the pain of pretense

Jesus is the only way from the pain of who I am

 

He walks with me, he gives me hope

He goes through the pain of my hopelessness

He is my imputed righteousness

Today, I know the way from the pain of who I am

 

Jesus Christ has taken all the consequences of who we are,

He stretches His hand for us to reach out to Him

Soon, the world we stand on shall collapse

But in the hands of Jesus, we are safe forever.

 

BY,

BENJAMIN KIOKO MUTUKU
 
